How to make the "glaze" for candied yams. Mine is gritty OR runny.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ShiningStar

Assistant Cook
I've recently found this site the other day, and I am so glad that I did. I LOVE to cook, but I'm a novice, and enjoy the learning experience.

I have been battling a yam recipe for years. My grandmother took her famous recipe to the grave and I cannot seem to duplicate it. It did not have marshmallows in it. It was canned yams (yes, canned) made with a glaze/sauce that was rich, translucent, THICK and dark sauce. It simply enveloped those dang yams. It had the consistency of a gravy. Everytime I try to make this, I either get a gritty glaze or a runny glaze. How do I fix it, and could you suggest ingredient measurements.
I've tried brown sugar with butter and yam syrup
...corn syrup
...corn starch
...I've tried caramelizing the sauce in a pan prior to baking, this is when it turned gritty.

I just can't seem to get it, and I know it's an easy recipe. My ingredients are off or the measurements are off - or both.

I've searched the web for recipes to no avail.

If you have any ideas on how to create this yummy glaze I would be THRILLED!!!

You know, I hadn't thought of that, but it is a possibility, and one that I haven't tried. Thanks for the suggestion!! :)

Maybe as simple as juice from the can, molassas and maybe a spritz of lemon. It wouldn't be grainy or gritty anyway.

I got 4 cans of the nice "yams" from Commodities last month. I'll have to try this glaze. I had them last year and they were bright orange and very tasty. I've had other brands that were a nasty brown color. I couldn't eat those, they just didn't look good.