I'm not sure how to cook this

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Celianna

Assistant Cook
I'm a novice at cooking, and have been cooking for only a few months, trying random recipes and some worked, some haven't.

Right now I have this idea to cook my potatoes in the oven, simmering in chicken broth and some added vegetables (green onion, regular onion, garlic etc) for some extra taste. Then I started thinking about which meat I wanted to go with the potatoes, and I decided butterfly porkchops. Now, I want to cook the butterfly porkchops along with the potatoes, to get all the taste in there as well - but I have no idea how to go about this. I don't know how long to cook it for, which temperature to use, how much I need to fill the tray with chicken broth before it's too much, or if it's even a good idea. Some tips on how to go about this would be really appreciated!

also depending on the size of the pork chops and the size and type of the veggies, you may need longer cooking time for the veggies over the pork. something else to think about if your only putting everything in the oven.

That does sound kind of like what I want to do, but how would I go about the potatoes then? Would I first cook the potatoes for like half an hour, then add the pork later? The butterfly porkchops are about an inch thick, so how long would I cook it for?

Last edited:
hmm potatoes can definetely take awhile to cook. Not sure how fast they'll cook in liquid if put directly in the oven. i suppose you could always roast the potatoes first or you can par boil them on the stove first until somewhat tender. The smaller you cut the potatoes, the faster they'll cook too.