ISO Beginner's really simple recipes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LeafsFan1122

Assistant Cook
I'd like to get some suggestions on some really simple foods to attempt to cook. I have very little experience but I would like to start practicing at home.

What are some of the easiest things to make? Could be pastry, a full meal, dessert, anything really.

Thanks.

Hmmm, well I'm actually very easy going when it comes to eating, i'll usually eat anything. In terms of desserts, I like pretty much anything chocolate.

Maybe some pasta suggestions would be good.

You can make a simple tomato sauce very simply.

Saute a diced onion and a couple of cloves of garlic in olive oil until soft and fragrant. Add a can of san marzano tomato and some basil and/or oregano, salt and pepper and simmer for 30 minutes.

Server over the cooked pasta of your choice.

Great suggestion, thank you.

I know I'm being very vague in my request but It's just that I'm a complete newb to this kinda stuff to keep the suggestions coming.

Thanks again.

You are welcome to search some of the specific forums here for recipes and ideas. Check out the pasta forum to start if you like.

Here's an easy meal to make with pasta:

Simple Pasta Primavera

8 oz. pasta (penne or rotini work well)
1 clove garlic, minced
4 T. butter
1/2 c. parmesan cheese
1/4. t. basil
1/4 t. salt and pepper
1/4 c. white wine
chopped vegetables: carrots; green, red, and yellow peppers; onions; whatever else (adjust amount to suit your own pasta-to-vegetable ratio preferences)

Boil water and cook pasta 10 minutes or till al dente. Drain.

Melt butter on medium high heat in large sauté/frying pan. Sauté onions and add garlic. Cook for one minute.

Add vegetables and spices. Cook for 8 minutes or until tender-crisp.

Add wine and cook for one minute.

Add pasta to pan. Top with cheese and serve.

Last edited: