ISO help learning about spices

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

srm

Cook
Can anyone point me to a resource (book / website.. anything) that will explain to me what spices go good with what. I'm still fairly new to the whole cooking thing, and i want to start using spices to kick it up a notch. I just dont know what goes with what...

I would suggest picking up a cheap loaded spice rack and experiment with them.

You will also learn more by cooking recipies with spices in them.

Penzey's is a great place to purchase herbs & spices from - including some interesting blends (I LOVE their Hot Curry Powder). Their descriptions are accurate, they have good easy-to-follow recipes, & their products are high-quality. When I order from them, I always try to purchase something I've never used before to experiment with - lots of fun.

PENZEYS Spices Home Page

Last edited:
i'm with Jeekinz, just grab some herbs & spices and start test-driving. open up a jar, take a sniff, and decide what food it makes you think of. try cooking that food with that spice to see what the impact is. have fun!

OH! and one of the above mentioned penzeys spices stores opened up right near my work building recently, and i was wondering what the heck that place was. now i know i have a trip to make!

Last edited:
soundsk good. i'll pick up one a nice spice rack, and start givin' er.

can you guys suggest what's good with chicken? i eat a lot of chicken, that's usually what i'm trying to kick up. i've tried cayanne, chili, and tex mex. i dont always like it 'hot and spicy' though. what else could go on, just as something a bit different? would i want to use stuff like oregano / rosemary / basil for something like that? or is that more of sauce type spices