ISO Help - Meatloaf

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Coffeecup

Assistant Cook
I'm new to DC and not quite sure how to ask a question, but here goes: Meatloaf is one of my favorite dishes, but my meatloaf will not hold together well for slicing. It has good flavor but it's eaten in chunks. Do I use more egg, or should I bake it longer? Right now, I use about 2 eggs for a 2-pound loaf, baked at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Doing for a full hour has resulted in a dry meatloaf.

I'm new to DC and not quite sure how to ask a question, but here goes: Meatloaf is one of my favorite dishes, but my meatloaf will not hold together well for slicing. It has good flavor but it's eaten in chunks. Do I use more egg, or should I bake it longer? Right now, I use about 2 eggs for a 2-pound loaf, baked at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Doing for a full hour has resulted in a dry meatloaf.

Welcome to DC. I am sure someone will come along with an answer to your problem with meatloaf.

I am the last person to help you. My kids have threatened me that they will put me in a home if I ever make meatloaf again. :angel:

Hi Coffeecup, and welcome. :flowers:

Do you add any bread crumbs, crushed saltines, or oatmeal to your meatloaf mix? That helps act as a binder and holds the meatloaf together a little better. I use about 1/2 -3/4 cup of some kind of grain for 2 lbs of meatloaf. I usually use a loaf pan for the meatloaf just to form it and pack it, then take it out and put it in a larger roasting pan. It has a chance to brown all the way around that way and doesn't sit in so much grease from the baking process.

Soak the fresh breadcrumbs in just enough whole milk to be absorbed. You do not want to have to squeeze out any excess milk. Let the bread/milk sit in the fridge for a hour or so.