ISO how long food can be left in the crock-pot

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CTteh99

Assistant Cook
Hi all,

So my friend recently got me a crock pot with a timer on it, thinking that I could put dinner in it before I went to work in the morning, and have dinner ready when I get home.

This sounds great and all, but the problem I have, is, I'm an HVAC technician, so I never know what time I will be getting home from work at night. I leave my house at 7am, and sometimes I'll be home around 5 or 6, and sometimes I won't be home till 7 or 8.

Most of the recipes I've looked at, say they get done anywhere from 4 hours to 6 hours cooking on low. My crock pot will automatically switch down to low once the allotted time is up.

But my question is, just how safe is it to leave on all that time? I know it switches down to warm an all, but how do I know that the liquid isn't eventually all going to boil off if I end up working till 7 or 8 at night, causing the food to then catch on fire? Or get overcooked at the very least?

Does anyone else use their crock pot for an extended amount of time like this?

Question about how long food can be left in the crock pot

Welcome to DC!

Hm. I'll take a shot at this, though all my crockpots are the "old fashioned" kind without timers. No worries about losing liquid, the lid insures that. Chicken breasts might get overdone if you go over 6-8 hours. Cook everything on low, then reprogram to warm if you will be gone more than 6-8 hours. Otherwise, you should be fine. Have fun with your new toy!

Last edited:
I feel your pain CTthe99.

I've wanted to use my crockpots for the set it and forget method but it's a learning curve to do so.

I wouldn't worry about your chow catching on fire but overcooking is a very real issue.