Kitchen Pet Peeves

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Seven S

Senior Cook
N of the Equator, W of the Greenwich Meridian
i am guessing everyone has input on this!!

i noticed some of these while cooking at my parents' today:

1) too much clutter in the kitchen, all kinds of things (some that dont even belong in a kitchen) taking up valuable counter space, not enough counter space to work on

2) everyone who uses the fridge opens it to take something out and leaving the door wide open while using the item, ie. taking the pitcher of juice out to the glass on the counter meanwhile the door is wide open, not shutting it since they figure they will be putting the pitcher back inside soon :mad:

(as a chef, i can only think of the fridge temp rising exponentially and all the food inside getting spoiled)

3) large pieces of celery in a salad... i can eat celery stems w blue cheese, but when chunks of celery, like 1/2 inch slices are in a salad i just lose it!! i like them in salad, however, very thinly sliced

would like to see what things tick you off !!

I know this isn't the way many people feel about the kitchen,BUT I don't like people in the kitchen who aren't helping out AND I don't want anyone washing their hands in my kitchen sink unless they are there to help. I have others, but those two are top of my list.

licia, I'm with you on the first one!! I don't know how many times people have been at my house and WATCHED as I made dishes from cutting and measuring, all the way to putting it on the table and never even asked if they could help. Then, leave before asking if they could help clean up!!!
My only other that really ticks me off to no end, when my boys empty out the dish washer and don't put things where they belong so that I can't find it when I need it!!!! ARGH!!!!