Lemon grass - ideas?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kayelle

Chef Extraordinaire
Aloha friends! I am in our vacation condo and i have some lemon grassl have never used. I have some pork, bell pepper, pineapple, but dont know what to do with the lemon grass. Help!
Im using my Nook Tablet and about to start dinner.:yum:
Mahalo!

I am no pro with lemongrass but i would chop it up with your other ingredients and marinate with it.

On second thought I would marinate the pork with the lemongrass and some soy and then make some kebobs with all the ingredients.

Last edited:
... do you know how to deal with this tough reed like thing?
Here's how to deal with lemongrass:

1. chop off about 1/2 inch at the root end and trim the dried tops
  2. peel off and throw away a few outside leaves
  3. place the lemongrass in one layer between 2 sheets of plastic wrap
  4. smash the hell out of it with a rubber mallet
  5. smash it some more until it's smashed to a pulp
  6. remove from the plastic and use a knife to cut it into thin slices
  7. discard any tough bottom parts that didn't smash/mince thoroughly
  8. throw away the rest of the top end you held while you were cutting/slicing
  9. mince it by chopping with your knife in a seesaw motion
  10. repeat until it's extremely finely minced
That's it! :)

You can use it in a lot of sauces, marinades and curries, particularly anything with an Asian or Southeast Asian accent. Particularly peanut dipping sauce for various appetizers, Thai or Asian style barbecues (as an ingredient for the marinade), and Thai curries with coconut milk, curry paste, nam pla (fish sauce), kaffir lime leaves, Thai chili peppers, etc.