Maple Syrup has mold skin on it??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

letscook

Head Chef
I have been buying maple pancake syrup from a menonite store for years.
The other day went to use it over pancakes and when I poured it out a moldy film came out. I had for about a month. Never had this happen before.

I didn't use it, but I was told you still can just take of the film of mold off then bring it to a boil and your good to go.

I have my doubts !!!! - mold is mold - What do all of you say?
I tossed it anyways to be safe

I am not an expert, but we do evap sap. One of the "rules" is that the sap has to be kept at a certain temperature if you are holding it before evap'ing it otherwise bacteria develops. The other thing, is if it isn't evap'ed to a certain concentrate, it can (will) mold if not stored in the fridge. To be safe, I freeze all our sap if we can't evap it right away and I seal our maple syrup in a hot water bath as if I were making jelly. And, once opened, I always keep it in the fridge. I would've taken it back. It sounds as if they might have mis-processed this batch. Sorry.

If it is real maple syrup you should be able to skim off any obvious mold and then heat the syrup and skim off any additional scum that may rise to the surface. Put it into a clean container and refrigerate until you need it. I buy a gallon every couple of years and I have not had any problems. The mold is actually a good sign that the stuff is real and will support life, unlike many of the engineered products we use today.

lol about supporting life, aunt bea.

the mold will flourish.

you'll be dead, but the mold will do just fine... :mrgreen:

j/k.