Mushroom Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CharlieD

Chef Extraordinaire
Though this is my first source for everything cooking, I do check some other cooking forums/blogs on and off.
This one place I was reading a post about mushrooms and one comment cut my attention. The person suggested to freeze mushrooms before adding them to soup. Supposedly freezing mushrooms before cooking intensifies the flavor.
I've never heard that. My father was an avid wild mushroom hunter/picker (what's the correct English word?). My parents would can, dry, pickle, make all kind of dishes with them. I have never seen them freezing mushrooms, if only for preservation. But never ever did they say that freezing helps with flavor.
Anybody have an opinion on that? Please share your experience.

I have no direct experience, Charlie. I think what happens when you freeze whole mushrooms then thaw them is that they will release a lot of water. The freezing causes the cells that hold moisture in the mushrooms to rupture and release their water. With water released from the mushrooms, their flavor is concentrated.

In reality, I'm not sure that would make a difference because water in mushrooms is evaporated when you cook them and that also concentrates the flavor.

Though this is my first source for everything cooking, I do check some other cooking forums/blogs on and off.
This one place I was reading a post about mushrooms and one comment cut my attention. The person suggested to freeze mushrooms before adding them to soup. Supposedly freezing mushrooms before cooking intensifies the flavor.