New Member Beginning Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

imp

Assistant Cook
Hi! If there is a new member intro place, I've missed it! Anyhow, I have questions my wife will not answer, regarding cooking.

For the book, I am a retired Engineer, have always "needed to know" just about everything about all I do. Cooking is no exception.

My wife is an aficionado of Corelle, Corning Ware, and Pyrex. Tonight I got the bright idea of why not instead of frying my frozen turkey patties, place them on a Corelle plate, and use our Sharp Micro/convection Oven on "High Mix", just as I do for my roasts, in her Corning Ware large covered dish.

She says absolutely not! Corelle is not thermally-resistant like the other two. So, I searched, and searched some more. Conflicting interest, much propaganda: dishes "exploding", etc.

Who might have some input for me on this? I hope to get to know many folks interested in cooking (and eating, of course!), having finally exited another of my forums, one dedicated to Seniors Only .......:ermm:

Thanks! imp

... I have questions my wife will not answer, regarding cooking...
Hi and welcome, imp! I think I'm the counterbalance in this world to your wife. Himself complains that I tell him far too much about cooking and its processes and such. He's happy operating in a complete vacuum when it comes to food prep and equipment. I still answer questions he doesn't want answers to anyway.