North Americans and French cooking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

polyn1708

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone !

I am a French student, and within the framework of a school course, I am doing a research project about "North Americans and French cooking".

I would like to know :

1) According to you, what is the most typical French food product ?

2) If a French grocery was to open in your town, what would you like to find in there ?

3) What's your nationality ?

I really thank you in advance for your answers, it would help me a lot :chef:
Any other comments about your vision of French food is also welcome !

1.Croque Monseur as a dish and cheese as a single item.Just guessing.

2.Wine,cheese,charcuterie,bread.

3.Scottish

I assume it is about the same as California fresh anymore but with more offal avaialable and more butter involved.Again just guessing.

1. Do you mean dish, or a product you would buy at a marche? And then, from which region? Most representative dish might be Boeuf Bourguignon, or it might be Choucroute, or it might be Bouillabaisse, or it might be Cassoulet. Depends upon where in France, non?
2. Tinned Escargots, French butter (other than President), Dubernet foie gras and other products, French confitures, and other very hard to find French products.

3. I'm a "mutt." (Mom's side - 14th generation American; Dad's side - 2nd generation from the Warsaw ghetto).

I've been teaching French cooking and traveling in France for the past 25 years, so maybe my answers are not too representative. :)

i apologize in advance for my answers. but i can't help myself...

1. fries

2, the french army (or i could have gone with carla sarkozy)

3. 'merican

:)

Last edited:
eh, i oft refuse 2 bolster another's homework, though i'm being generous tonite, so here~

-escargot