Prepping a turkey the night before?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CluelessFather

Assistant Cook
I'm a moron in the kitchen and want to make this Thanksgiving special for my wife and two daughters. I've never "done a turkey" so this is my first time.

I was wondering if any of you wise kitchen sages could help me with what I should do to with for the bird tonight? It's a 7 lbs turkey (we're poor) but I'm excited to make it taste delicious for my family.

I've heard I should rub it with salt and other spices but I don't know if that's tonight or just before stuffing and roasting it tomorrow.

Any help would be appreciated.

Oh my. Make sure it's thawed, and dig the innards out, front and back. They come in little plastic bags. Refer to the many threads here as to rubs. You might want to stick the naked bird in the fridge overnight to allow the skin to dry out a bit, then use whatever rub, butter and herb, etc. before you cook it. Any herb or spice will be nice. You can make great gravy by boiling the stuff from the plastic bags (minus the red liver) with some water to cover, then add to the pan drippings. Then whisk in some flour, and cook and stir till it looks like gravy, and strain.

Butterball hotline rocks, btw.

Others will have ideas. Have a great Thanksgiving!

Last edited:
you might want to brine it. I find brining a very fail-safe way, easily executable for beginners, and very forgiving in case you overcook the turkey.

Even if it's not fully thawn, you can still brine it. For the brine I put 2 tbsp of salt in each quart of water, and then let the turkey soak in it for over night. and then before you bake it, smear a lot of butter on top of the skin over the breast.

Turned out great! thanks for all your advice!
EXCELLENT! I hope you kept the bones for soup? You can freeze those if you aren't ready to tackle soup yet.