Pronounce this!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GotGarlic

Chef Extraordinaire
Would you buy items if they had these words on the packages?

This is why I think the saying "I don't eat what I can't pronounce" makes no sense. What people really mean is, "I don't want to eat it if I don't know what it is." Besides, I studied several languages and got quite good at pronunciation. I doubt one of these can trip me up ;) That's not a good basis for nutrition decisions, either.

tumblr_mvlkloUhwF1qhag7xo1_500.jpg

I would buy the items, I'm not sure I would buy all of the claims.

I have wondered about this in a slightly different way over the years. My area of CNY has traditionally been a resettlement area for refugees. The new folks shop based on what they see, not based on what the label says. They stick to the perimeter of the store buying fresh food that looks familiar to them. When they venture into the interior of the store I think they rely mainly on the pictures shown on the boxes and cans. I bet they get some funny and perhaps frustrating experiences when they get home and open the containers. I have often wondered how I would do in a similar situation.

Last edited:
... When they venture into the interior of the store I think they rely mainly on the pictures shown on the boxes and cans. I bet they get some funny and perhaps frustrating experiences when they get home and open the containers. I have often wondered how I would do in a similar situation.

We run into a similar situation each year when we go to Aruba. We have a timeshare so cook some of our meals to save a buck. It's a treat to shop for items based on the pictures on the labels and a rudimentary understanding of foreign language (mostly Dutch) to decipher what's in the can. Also, everything is labeled in metric weights and volumes so a little mental math has to take place as well.