Question for Culinary and Hospitality Personnel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SueBear

Senior Cook
I am seeking information from culinary and hospitality personnel. For reference, I'm in the United States, and considering a career change to the above.

Here's my situation. Currently I am a graduate student finishing up on my graduate degree in a few months. What I have been contemplating the past few months is moving into the hospitality or culinary field rather than my current career with is Information Technology and Business. It is a big change.

I already have an undergraduate in IS and now a soon MBA so I'm wondering, can it be done and if so, how do I do it? I have to admit I am a little freaked out as I've never experienced this sort of change and it really has caught me off guard. Has anyone ever gone through something like this? How did you deal with it? Inquiry minds want to know. I'm sure many are going to come back with low pay, long hours, etc but that's not what I am looking for. I ask for serious replies only as this is a career issue I have been considering and found no other place to turn for valid information.

Thanks in advance for thoughts. :chef:

Sue

I think your education would/could prove very useful in the Hospitality arena. Hotel Management comes to mind. I also would suggest to move slowly, take your time, and find what you have a true passion for before making any major life changes.

Stick to your current curriculum...and get something nights or weekends in the food service industry. You need to get an idea of what you'd be interested in doing...