Scottish Deep Fried Food

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Claire

Master Chef
Ok, I'm fairly new to this web site, so bear with me in this question, especially if it's been asked before. Is it true that in Scotland you can buy battered, deep-fried candy bars and slices of pizza? I've seen, read, heard this from a lot of sources .... so, just curious.

Clair you are not so new here. I would consider you an old pro. Wait I take that back. I consider you a pro :)

Yes I have heard the same thing. I saw a show on FoodTV (I think) where they were deep frying everything including candy bars (which you can actually find in the US a lot now) and pizza. They also did a deep fried hard boiled egg. Believe it or not, the host of the show really enjoyed the egg. He did not like the pizza very much though.

New to this site? :?

Tyler Florence did do the fried candy bar thing on "Food 911" - Episode FO1D14 - "Fish and Chips". It had to be invented by a mad (drunk) Scot after one too many pints at the end of a football game when he dropped his candy bar into the "fish-n-chip" batter and then after plucking it out dropped it into the deep fryer.

I love deep fried candy bars! Snickers are my favorite. I use a funnel cake batter or pancake batter. Deep fried Oreos are also at the top of my list!

Michael in FtW said:
New to this site? :?

Tyler Florence did do the fried candy bar thing on "Food 911" - Episode FO1D14 - "Fish and Chips". It had to be invented by a mad (drunk) Scot after one too many pints at the end of a football game when he dropped his candy bar into the "fish-n-chip" batter and then after plucking it out dropped it into the deep fryer.