Scratch Made Vanilla Pudding Turned Green!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

patriciafmcghee

Assistant Cook
Please help! My vanilla pudding turned green. I know the eggs were good (sink or swim before I cracked them), just bought the milk and flour this morning. This is the second time this has happened. Anyone know what I did wrong? Thanks!!

Please post the recipe or recipe link, so we can check it out.

Last edited:
I used the recipe on the nilla wafers box. 1/2 c sugar, 1/3 c flour, dash salt, 3 eggs, 2 c milk, 1/2 tsp van. It says to separate the eggs, but my grandmother never did. I double the recipe. I do not have a double boiler, so I cook it on low. I appreciate any help/ideas.

I totally understand about following the directions, but I have been making this recipie this way for about 5 years and this is the first time this it has turned green. My husband's thought is could it be a chemical reaction with the whisk and bad salt or bad flour?

No Mam it is not copper.

It has to be a chemical reaction but from the ingredient list I cannot figure out what caused it.

If the pot is uncoated aluminum, that could be the culprit. I have seen eggs cooked in uncoated aluminum and they turned green.

I don't know why but I have had the same thing happen with instant sugar free pudding, chocolate. i blamed it on buying the cheaper store brand. But of course I could be off base here.

According to Kerry's Island Kitchen: