Smokey Skillet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

marvinq

Assistant Cook
I'm still a beginner cook. I've been cooking for my family and when grilling steak and, what I made tonight, salmon. I noticed that there is a point in which things get really smokey. Sometimes, I have to open all the windows and doors. Is it because the cooking oil I used has reached it's smoking point? Should I lower the heat at this point?

What oil are you using? That's nearly always the issue. You need to use an oil with a high smoke point and lower your temp on your pan. It's also about the pan. What kind of pan are you using?

I was using olive oil and an All-Clad Iron Skillet. Should I have used canola oil? So, when it happens lower the heat on my pan huh?

Cooking steaks inside on a pan will create a ton of smoke. If it doesn't then you are not doing it right :LOL:

I would use an oil with a higher smoke point than olive oil, but even so it is going to smoke. You don't want to turn your heat down because you want that high heat to get that great crust.

I was using olive oil and an All-Clad Iron Skillet. Should I have used canola oil? So, when it happens lower the heat on my pan huh?
Olive Oil has a low smoke point. There are many more oils that have a higher smoke point. I would definitely use canola over olive oil for cooking anything that need high heat.

Cooking steaks inside on a pan will create a ton of smoke. If it doesn't then you are not doing it right :LOL:

I would use an oil with a higher smoke point than olive oil, but even so it is going to smoke. You don't want to turn your heat down because you want that high heat to get that great crust.

I endorse everything in this post.