The importance of diners at your Table getting their Meals at the same time?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Peterpack

Assistant Cook
How important do you think it is for your table to get all its meals at the same time ? let's say a table of 6-8 people, not too big

What is an acceptable variance for you between say the first person getting their main course and the last person ?

im a chef. i would say a couple minutes at most. an efficient and well-run restaurant should have all main courses coming out to a table of 6-8 at the same time. anything more than a few minutes usually means someone screwed up the order in the kitchen and forgot to prepare it when the order came in (it could also be the waiter forgot to write the dish and only realized it when about to serve the table).

I would be annoyed if it were more than a few minutes. Three maybe five minutes. I eat out a lot, and always write reviews when I get home. ALWAYS. One of the number one reasons I wont go back is bad service.

Very important. After all, if we all wanted to go the the fridge and get dinner at different times, we wouldn't go out, would we? That is one reason I often do not send a meal back that by all rights should be; by the time the problem is fixed, I'd be eating my dinner when everyone else is ready to go home (for me, most of the time the problem is a steak I've ordered VERY RARE comes out gray. Unlike when your steak is a little underdone for your taste, you can't uncook a steak that looks like stew meat). If the time difference is much more than 5 minutes, I'd be frustrated. A good measure is that most of us were raised to not start eating until everyone has been served. If the first person served has to eat a cold meal, and really, that doesn't take long, than it has been too long.