What does Challah taste like? Is it sweet?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thymetobake

Assistant Cook
I'm wanting to make rolls. I must say that I am a very lazy baker!!! I like the Artisan in 5 books. I recently purchased the Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day cookbook and I'm thinking of using the whole wheat Challah recipe to make dinner rolls. I've never tasted Challah before. Is it supposed to be sweet? I don't mind a slight sweetness to dinner rolls, but I prefer not to have a desert bread roll.

Here's the recipe in a nutshell:

5 cups whole wheat flour
3 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1/4 cup wheat germ
1 1/2 tablespoons granulated yeast
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1/4 cup vital wheat gluten
3 cups lukewarm water
1/4 cup neutral flavored oil or butter
1/2 cup honey
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
egg wash
poppy seeds

So, I'm planning to leave out the vanilla and poppy seeds. I'm thinking of decreasing the honey by half.

What do you think? Is Challah normally sweet? I want to use this recipe because I believe it will be light and airy. Of course, I'm not against just winging it, but I'd like some input if you have any.

Thanks,
ttb

challah is a dense slightly "sweet" eggy bread. It is very nice bread. It makes the best french toast!

Robo410 is on the money. I love challah, it is a lot like Polish Babka bread. I wouldn't change the recipe the first time but make it and see how you like it. It does not read like a very sweet recipe at all.

Challah is sweet, but not sugary sweet. It is still a bread and not like a cake. I am skeptical of a whole wheat challah though. Something about that just does not sit well with me. For me, that would not be challah.