What's The Best Way To Cook Italian Sausage?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sydfan

Senior Cook
Without a grill. I have a stove, oven, frying pan and baking sheet. I'm not putting any sauce on it....just good ol' sausage sammiches. I've heard about putting a little water in a pan.....but I just don't know.

I'm a novice, so forgive my lack of knowledge!

Since your not making sauce, I would split them in half and then brown them in a frying pan.

I would simmer them with a little beer. Then brown in a skillet. Don't forget to brown/caramelize some onions and peppers to go with them.

We just brown them in a little evoo and then add red bell peppers,sliced onion, a clove or two of crushed garlic. When cooked through we put on buttered and toasted under the broiler soft sub rolls...If we don't make sandwiches we add potato wedges to the pan and have a green salad and hot french bread and butter..
kadesma:)

I would simmer a tad in a pan with some water then split them and broil them. Use the pan juices to saute your onions and peppers in with some evoo!

amber said:
Since your not making sauce, I would split them in half and then brown them in a frying pan.
That's a favourite way in our house...Just the tiniest drop of olive oil in the pan, perhaps some sauteed onions (and/or garlic) if you like and some hearty, crusty bread to nibble with the sausages :)

I like to remove them from their casings, chop them up in a food processor and use them in bolognese sauce.

Will let them essentially steam in a bit of water with a top on the frying pan and will then take the cover off and saute them a bit.

Then serve them on a roll with caramelized onions and peppers.

If it is grilling season will usually cook them that way, but unfortunately sydfan cannot do that.

Do like adding a bit of tomato sauce to the mix, but to each his own.