"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking
Click Here to Login

Old 04-30-2020, 04:52 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Youtube Cooking

Hi im new here and new to cooking. My name is Ant, and I am a terrible cook. I cant even get eggs right most of the time. Most of the time i eat fast food like McDonalds, KFC, Dominoes, Panda express, local mexican restaurants ect. You guys are probably getting slammed by guys like me who dont want to go out anymore for fear of corona. But i'm really tired of eggs and baloney sandwiches lol. So i was wondering if you guys new of a good youtube channel for cooking? I would like recipes that are simple yet tasty. Thanks

Antpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 05:50 AM   #2
Executive Chef

I believe a good place to look is Christina Lane's "Dessert for Two" site..
https://www.dessertfortwo.com/

She has many simple savory dishes to go along with her desserts AND she has a You Tube channel, accessible through her web site..

Good luck finding what will work for you..

Ross

Old 04-30-2020, 08:44 AM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Hi and welcome to Discuss Cooking

I think the best way to learn how to cook is to start by learning the basic techniques. "Ruhlman's Twenty" by Michael Ruhlman does that perfectly. He breaks down cooking into 20 techniques and describes each one, then presents recipes that use the techniques. Along the way, he gives tips and ideas on how to make little changes to a recipe, so you have variety.

You can read a preview of it here. It's available used in several places online (I bought a used version) for less than $10.
https://books.google.com/books/about...kp_read_button

For videos, if you can find Rachael Ray's old show "30-Minute Meals," she did a great job of teaching how to make simple dishes that worked well together.

And of course, ask us anything. Someone will have an answer. Sometimes many someones