A labour saving cooking apple method.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BML

Assistant Cook
Right, I’m an idle cook blessed with a garden either side of me with superb cooking apples and this year it’s the best crop I have seen in many years. There is one problem which is the time cost effective method of cooking them. Yesterday I cut them into quarters, got rid of any insect damage, pealed the quarters covered them with water, bought them to the boil reducing it to a simmer until they had all disintegrated into a mush which my wife then fed through a sieve.
My thought is that there just has to be a better way, so, what about just cutting them into quarters, getting rid of any insect damage and then bunging into a saucepan, bringing them to a boil then a simmer and then giving them to my wife to put through a sieve?
If anyone has a better idea please tell me because there are hundred weights of cookning apples waiting to be scrumped, cooked and frozen to have over the next few months with icecream.

Why don't you give the job of quartering, debugging, putting on stove to your wife?

Would save you a lot of labour!

:LOL: me
:mad: your wife
:bangin: you and your wife IF you really do suggest it.

Are you quartering and then peeling? Isn't it harder to peel the smaller quarters than peeling the whole apple first? I usually core the apple, peel it, then cut it up.

Just a thought.

Can you get one of these where you are? In one motion, it cores apples and cuts them into eight wedges. I don't peel them at all.

You don't need any water to cook apples. They give off a lot of liquid and will cook in that in 15-20 minutes. When you simmer them in a lot of water and then drain it, you're losing a lot of flavor and nutrition down the sink. Farberware%2BProfessional%2BApple%2BWedger.jpg

Last edited: