"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Health, Nutrition and Special Diets > Low Carb | Keto
Click Here to Login

Old 01-05-2021, 11:08 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Newbie Question for experienced keto eater

I have been eating keto lifestyle now for over 2 years but has only been the last year Ive started using a blood meter to monitor after having weight gain and water retention yo yo regardless that I keep my eating clean. What I am confused about it not seeming to get high numbers or even hold ketosis during certain times of month (during my period numbers are nil). Im 43 hours into a fast and still only showing as .4 usually after 120hours I can get to as high as 4.0 but as soon as I eat the number plumet until Im out again. I eat well under 20 total carbs, zero processed foods/sauces, no sweetners or extras. I eat meat, eggs and fat omad. I can fast for days so sure there is some fat adaption but yet no weight loss. What am I doing wrong? I honestly dont understand these keto numbers other than Im supposed to aim for 1.5 which for me seems impossible to hold.

watsonlarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 01:14 AM   #2
Cupcake

Welcome to DC.

I followed the Keto diet for a couple of years. It worked great for me, but it was also very hard for me to keep following. I did not fast though.

A few questions that I have: Are you getting enough fats in? What are your daily macros? For me, my macros were 75-80% fat, 15-20% protein, about 5% carbs. I would start my day with a fat bomb and bulletproof coffee. Then my numbers would look great all day.

~Kathleen

A little bit Ginger. A little bit Mary Ann.
Kathleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2021, 06:02 PM   #3
Sous Chef