New Crock Pot user with lots of questions!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MiamiAna

Assistant Cook
Hi! This is my first time here and I am new at using a crockpot/slow cooker. I've never used one before and now that I am a new mom and have a full time job I need I figured this will help me save some time a few times a week. I have some questions.
1. Can I put frozen meat/poultry in the crock pot?
2. Can I prepare the foods the night before, store it in the fridge then put it in the crock in the morning before I leave to work?
3. I'm usually out of the house at 7am and get back around 6pm. Is it ok for the food to be in there that long even if then recipe calls for 6 hours of cooking? Will it burn or dry out??
4. Do I have to add water even if a recipe does not call for it??

Welcome to Discuss Cooking, Ana. Someone will be along soon who uses a slow cooker and answer your questions.

Welcome to the site. You will get a ton of great info here!

MiamiAna said:
I would worry about putting the Crockpot in the freezer. I am not sure on this, but I would be worried about it cracking.

MiamiAna said:
2. Can I prepare the foods the night before, store it in the fridge then put it in the crock in the morning before I leave to work?
That would depend on the recipe. It will work for some, but not for others. If you have specific recipes in mind then feel free to post them and we can let you know if it will work.
MiamiAna said:
3. I'm usually out of the house at 7am and get back around 6pm. Is it ok for the food to be in there that long even if then recipe calls for 6 hours of cooking? Will it burn or dry out??
Again this will depend on the recipe, but generally this should not be a problem. Use the Low setting instead of High.
MiamiAna said: