Can you eat whole, raw beets?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

k_young221

Assistant Cook
My 4 year old picked out some beets at the grocery store, and I've never tried them before. I've found plenty of ways to prepare them, but I wanted to know if you can just eat them out of hand. Can I just cut off the ends, peel them, and dig in?

I know this isn't a cooking question. It's more of an anti-cooking question. But you guys have always been fantastic about answering my silly questions quickly. =)

Thanks,
~K

As far as I know, beets are cooked in some form or fashion before they are eaten. They can be steamed, roasted, boiled, and microwaved. You might want to taste a raw beet to see how it tastes. Maybe you'll like it.

Welcome to DC. Your question was a valid one for this group.:)

Ok my daughter and I just tried one. Bleh. Guess I'll try cooking them, eh? =)

Thanks!
~K

Of course you can eat them raw. I wouldn't, but my my makes couple of diferent salads with them. Grated beets, crashed garlick, walnuts, and some mayo, mix together eat. She loves it. There is more, I just can't remember.

You can eat them raw, but as CharlieD mentioned, they really should be grated first.

That said - most folks prefer them cooked, at least slightly.

Which reminds me of the time in the late 60's I ate a few raw beets. Several hours later I thought I might be bleeding internally because my urine was quite red. The possibility that the beets caused it occurred to me and I mentioned it to the folks at the emergency room but they assured me that it must be something else. Since I felt fine, I ended up refusing treatment and leaving against medical advise with no subsequent ill effects. I haven't eaten them raw since but do occasionally notice a slight color difference after eating a healthy portion "al-dente."

l've had them julienned in a salad, raw.