Soggy skillet potatoes..what am I doing wrong?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liily

Assistant Cook
Hi all,

I am new to the forum. I am 23 years old and i have been cooking for about two years now so i am fairly new to cooking. I have so many questions and concerns but right i would like to know what i am doing wrong....

Everytime i cook thinly sliced potatoes on a skillet with some oil they alway come out soggy. I would love to know how to make them crispy.

Thank you.

Tell us exactly what you are doing and we will have a better idea on what the issue is. Both suggestions so far could be right.

Depending on what size skillet I'm using I will 1/2 and 1/2 olive oil/butter, turn heat on to about medium (electric stove) between 6 and 7, put potatoes in when hot, cover till about 1/2 of the way done (few minutes when thin) and then remove cover, turn up heat to mid-high and turn only a few times (as to not make them fall apart) when crispy to my liking. I've found that when I do this it helps to make sure the potato is able to finish cooking towards the end when I'm crisping them.

My wife cooks these a lot Croatian style, she cuts the pots thin puts a layer in the oiled skillet sprinkles it with vegeta (a dry chicken stock powder) repeats a few times puts the lid on and cooks on a low heat for about 30 mins, then takes the lid off increases the heat and turns them a few times till some are very crisp and some are soft and gooeeeeee. The type of pot is very important Desiree or Roosters both red pots work the best, like with french fries new pot dont work.

Last edited: