Stocks - make your own or powder?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lytle

Washing Up
To me the best food items are made with stocks. You need a good stock to make the best sauces, side dishes w/ potatoes and rice, soups, even a lot of veg recipes. So just wondering what most home cooks do for their stocks at home, do you guys make them yourself or buy the powder stocks to use?

I learned how to cook away from home and when I was living on my own I was in a residence and had a meal plan first, and second time I was a broke college student and ate cheap. When I come home though I make my stocks from scratch. Im usually broke at home and I dont wanna make my grandma buy me things every time I wanna cook something so Im often missing an item or 2 I'd usually put in but always make a good stock. There's usually neck bones in my freezer as we buy 1/4 cows at a time. My grandma makes stew with them but not often so I always use em up. Also if we eat a chicken or turkey dinner I'll make stock out of the leftover bones.

I've only used powder stock at this one crappy little family restaurant I worked at when I got stuck at home for 5 months between BC and school, thought it was lacking something and was just the lazy mans way to do it. One of my chefs at school did a demo with powder demi glace and hollandaise sauce just to show us that, they actually tasted pretty **** close to the result you'd get with a real demi or holly, but you dont learn how to cook using powder IMO. I'd never use them if I had the choice, but if I wanted the sauce and am short on cash I'd probably buy em.

I make my own for the most part. Mainly chicken and veggie stock. But I do keep some containered stock on hand as well. Chicken stock is to easy to make, specially when you have whole chickens to butcher up.