Falafel recipe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

powerplantop

Executive Chef
Falafel-SQ.jpg

Ingredients
1 Cup Dried Chickpeas Soaked overnight
1 Cup Parsley Flat leaf / roughly chopped
1 Tablespoon Garlic Minced
1/4 Cup Onion Diced
1 teaspoon Salt
1 green onion minced
2 Cups Neutral flavored oil for frying

Instructions
Cover the chickpeas and soak for at least 8 hours.

Parsley, soaked chickpeas, garlic, onion, salt and green onion.
To a food processor add all of the ingredients (except the oil) and process until everything is in small pieces.

Form the falafel and ease into oil heated to 350F

When they start to brown flip them over and cook another 30 seconds.

Remove from the oil and place onto a wire rack

https://jamesstrange.com/delicious-falafel-recipe/

Last edited:
I have been making falafel in a food processor for many years, and it has always turned out well. But recently I used a food grinder instead… and the results were significantly better.

Why? Because the food processor does not extract much juice from the herbs and aromatics, whereas the food grinder does. These additional juices result in a lot more flavor (and color) in the mix. If you don't have a food grinder, consider processing the herbs and aromatics in a mortar & pestle, and mixing the output with the ground up chickpeas. If you don't have a mortar/pestle either, you can add just the aromatics and herbs to the food processor and process it a bit finer, and then mash the output with some kosher salt using the back of a knife against your cutting board.