Hominy, what to do with it.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larry_stewart

Master Chef
While in a Spanish market near the house, I picked a few things i've never tried before. One of which being white hominy. Before I go searching the internet, does anyone have any suggestions ??

larry

Hominy has a flavor that's a cross between a bean, such as pinto or great northern, and a fresh corn tortilla. It is great in chili, or in corn chowder (Native American style). It can be used in various vegetable soups as well, especially if they have a bit of tomato in them.

Hominy is usually used to add flavor and a starchy, bean-ike texture to soups, stew, and chowders. It can be eaten by itself with butter, but usually isn't. Tomato, cummin, and coriander go great with it as does black pepper (coarse grind), and a bit of salt.

I'm a bit adventurous and so might even try to combine it with diced potato, onion, and ground beef in a hash, or with rice that's been boiled in chicken stock with diced meat of your choice. Add some diced peppers and you'd have a pretty tasty rice dish.

Just some ideas for you.

Seeeeya; Goodweed of the North

I use it in chili and soups, and the pozole. I like the other ideas I see here. I has that real savory corn flavor.

salad

You can make this as a salad...with tomatoes, chilies,cilantro. Just cook the Hominy and veggies on medium heat,,,add cheese..kinda like a salsa...hope this helps
grilled-corn-salad.jpg

I buy canned hominy frequently (it's very popular around here), but just serve it plain with butter, salt, & pepper as a side dish. I particularly like it as a breakfast side, but it works well alongside meatloaf & other comfort-type foods.

dried whole kernel hominy needs to be rehdrated like dried beans (soak overnight, changing the water a few times.) Canned hominy , just rinse and add to the dish.