ISO help drying pasta quickly

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KissTheCook

Assistant Cook
Hey does anyone know how i can make my pasta dry faster. I was told i would have to wait 8-24 hours but it wasnt dry so i waited 2 days then it was dry. Any one know how i can get it to dry faster?

I'm no expert, in fact haven't made my own pasta at all, but from what I've heard you can cook it directly and skip the drying step.

I hope I don't get slapped down for this reply. All I know is what I've heard.

How about cooking it fresh and report back how it went?

I'm no expert, in fact haven't made my own pasta at all, but from what I've heard you can cook it directly and skip the drying step.

I hope I don't get slapped down for this reply. All I know is what I've heard.

How about cooking it fresh and report back how it went?

It is certainly possible to cook it before it dries.

...unless you've made several tons of the stuff and want to save some for later. :angel:

I've seen TV show chefs cook it as soon as making. Pardon me if I coin a term: "fresh pasta."

As I've said I've never made my own pasta. I've always used dried store pasta. I hope to have the opportunity to fix that soon some day.

I've always enjoyed the concept to cook more than you need now particularly if you can use it later. Some things are even better later. (Okay, meatloaf! True, right?)

How are you drying it? I have a very large laundry rack. It has three levels. It works perfectly. You can buy a small wooden one and hang it, spaced out. It depends on how much you make at one time. When I make noodles for chicken soup, I make enough for two meals. That means I have to hang it for drying. Mine and my daughter's. Sometime if she is in the mood for fresh pasta, I will make up a bunch, Enough for two people and one meal. No need to dry it, as she is going to be using it immediately.