Jasmine Rice question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elitecodex

Assistant Cook
Hey everyone... I am a beginner cook still and experimenting as I go. I bought a bag of real rice (non instant stuff) and followed a recipe to cook it. Here is a quick rundown of the recipe:

melt 1 tbsp of butter, add 2/3 C rice/juice of 1 lime and mix for 1 minute. Add 1 C of water, bring to boil, reduce heat/cover for 25 min.

So I followed it but the texture confuses me. It came out kinda thick and sticky. Is this normal for Jasmine rice? I didn't know if long grain rice is different than the stuff Im used too. Just want to know if I did it right. The rice didnt taste hard or anything, so I think it will fully cooked but I'm not 100% sure.

Thanks in advanced for the help!

You might want to rinse your rice first, then use twice as much liquid as the rice.

So the way I did it was expected because I didn't rinse it?

Is the twice as much liquid as rice just a rule of thumb or does it change based on rice that is rinsed/not rinsed? Does it matter with short grain or long grain rice?

elitecodex said:
So the way I did it was expected because I didn't rinse it?

Yes, but not entirely. Rinsing rice until the water runs clear helps rice not to be so starchy (thick, sticky etc.) If you want your rice to be more like the Instant rice you have been cooking then rinsing well help you towards that end. Another thing that can contribute to sticky, starchy rice is over cooking...If cooked to long it will turn to mush....

elitecodex said:
Is the twice as much liquid as rice just a rule of thumb or does it change based on rice that is rinsed/not rinsed? Does it matter with short grain or long grain rice?