Experienced Cook Needs Sushi Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BBQ Mikey

Sous Chef
Ok guys, Im an experienced cook, but Sushi I have no experience making.

I understand the principle, you need to make sushi rice, (seems like the most important component) then the seaweed and fillings.

Heres my question. For the Sushi rice, all I have in my apt. are pots and pans, I dont have a steemer, will i get by? How should I make the Sushi rice?
I plan to just use white rice, cook once til fluffy, refridgerate once doused with sugar and rice vinegar, then use the next day. Hows that sound?

The seaweed I plan to wet slightly before use, and then I will have to hand roll it since i have no bamboo sheet or whatever.

Any advice is much appreciated, Ill be using Imitation crab and Smoked Salmon for starters.:chef:

Welcome to DC, BBQ Mikey.

Sushi rice is a pecific type of rice. You need a medium grain rice. Regular long grain white rice will not work.

You can cook rice without a steamer, I do it all the time. Here's how I do it:

3⅓ C Sushi Rice
4 C Water
¼ C Water

6 Tb Rice Vinegar
5 Tb Sugar
1 Tb Salt

Rinse rice under running water until the water runs clear then drain in a colander for 1 hour.

Place the drained rice in a pot with a tight-fitting lid and add 4 cups water.

Over medium heat, cover and bring the water to a boil. Boil for about 2 minutes, reduce heat and allow it to simmer for another 5 minutes.

Reduce heat to low and cook for about 15 minutes, or until water has been absorbed.

Remove from the heat, remove lid, and place a towel over pot. Replace lid and let stand for 10 to 15 minutes.

While the rice cooks, combine vinegar, sugar, salt and ¼ cup water in a saucepan. Heat over low temperature, stirring, until sugar and salt dissolve. Set aside to cool.