Hatch chiles...?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kayelle

Chef Extraordinaire
I was lucky enough to grab a package of frozen prepared Hatch Chili's at Trader Joes. They were flying out the door! I've never used them before and I can't find a heat index on them. Since I'm doing my chili rellano casserole tonight, and I've always used 14oz. of canned ortega peppers, I'm hopeful someone can help me out here. How hot are they, in comparison?

Last edited:
I'm busy in the kitchen now so just getting in on this, but that's an interesting article, Kay. That's pretty much what I've heard about Hatch chiles, that it depends on the area and how the growing season is - hot and dry vs wetter, area, etc. When you say you got them frozen and 'prepared' from TJ's, did that mean they were roasted? Just curious - I'm really looking forward to how you liked them in your chile relleno casserole. :)

I've heard so much about roasted Hatch chilis too. Looking forward to your report, Kay!

Yes, the Hatch chili's were roasted before freezing for Trader Joe's. They are evidently so seasonal for harvest that the word got around my group of friends that they were there a while back so I jumped on a one lb. package. The day I was there almost every cart had at least one package and sometimes several. Now I wish I had been greedy too. I didn't see them again last week.

Kayelle, if they were not labeled as to their hotness, you just have to taste them. When they come into season here, the cases are labeled from mild (no heat at all) to very hot.

Last year we bought a case of hatch chiles. I spent most of a day seeding, roasting, and peeling them. We still have 3 full gallon size Ziplocks in the freezer. :chef:

i-kbSmfkp-M.jpg

Oh looks great, Rick! I'd love to have a bunch of frozen chiles in my freezer. Maybe soon, I planted several jalapeno plants a few weeks ago. :)