Pea Dumplings >> Completely Indian!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vickie1388

Assistant Cook
2485977879_0f08a35058.jpg

Time: 15-30 mins

Indredients :
Peas -100 gms
Gram Flour -200 gms
Chilli powder-1/2 tsp
Coriander powder-1/2 tsp
Baking powder-1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Water-1/4 cup (approx)
Oil for frying

Method :
Dry grind the peas in a mixer .mix with gram flour and put all other ingredients.
Mix water and make a thick batter. keep aside for 15 min.fry as small dumplings in hot oil.Serve with mint chutney or tomato ketchup.

Fast and Easy!
Enjoy! :chef:

Where do I start? LOL. First, are they cooked peas or raw? And if cooked, are they set aside until dry then used? And what is gram flour? And lastly, is the pea stuff a filling and if so what is the dough or wrapper?
Sorry for all the questions, beginner here with Indian food, but thanks in advance!

Where do I start? LOL. First, are they cooked peas or raw? And if cooked, are they set aside until dry then used? And what is gram flour? And lastly, is the pea stuff a filling and if so what is the dough or wrapper?

I also have all these questions.

One thing I can tell you gram flour ('besan' in Hindi) is the flour prepared from chana dal or chick pea.

How can I make those shapes (as shown in picture) with batter? We can make it with tight dough but not with batter.

We have ethnic grocery stores here, but I am thinking I am going to have to do some searching around to find it. So it is made from chick peas ground into flour? Or a combo of flour and chick peas? Cause if I had a guide I could probably make it in my food processor.. hopefully.