Spanokopita Revisited

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gossie

Sous Chef
I FINALLY had a few minutes to spend on making this. Ayrton, I took your advice and I used a pie dough. And I kept it simple, I used spinach (frozen), feta, rice, 2 small chopped onions, and 2 eggs. It came out absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!

We decided that next time I'll use a 2 pie pans instead of one long 9x12 pan. I made it a bit thick (too high), the insides were just warm, not hot. LoL

Last edited:
Wow - pie dough? That's a different way to make it and apparently it worked!:chef:

I'd love to see your recipe as I've never seen one with rice either. Ya' learn something new everyday here!

First off, do a search on Spanokopita, Ayrton gave a great explanation, along with ingredients. Why am I sending you there? Cuz I'm not good at using exact measurements. LoL I usually go on ideas.

I bought the Pillsbury already made pie crusts. I used the whole package, melding together two crusts for the bottom and two crusts for the top (because I used such a large baking pan). I brushed both the bottom of the pan, and each pie crust, w/melted butter.

Here's where I'm not sure, I think I used TWO of the BAGS of frozen chopped spinach. It might have been one, but I'm pretty sure I used two. Why don't I just write these things down when I do them, even if they do come out bad, so I know not to try that one again. LoL Dropped these into a wire strainer and let them drip dry, and even squeezed them some too.

2 eggs, well stirred
2 onions, diced and cooked

FETA: I used what looked right to me. Ayrton said SOFT feta, so I squished the might out of that feta and added a little light cream. By the time I got thru with that, it almost looked like ricotta. I'm gonna try ricotta in it at another time.