Can you look at my parmigiano reggiano?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BurntSienna

Assistant Cook
https://photos.app.goo.gl/WxmwkhhNV2r7NMtt9

I buy this high quality, flavorful parmigiano reggiano in medium size wedges they sell at this posh local grocery chain. If what's left here is still good, I have enough to make pesto. The internets vary widely on how long this stuff lasts, some places saying a month, and other places a year. This is probably about a year old.

The internets also say that you should watch out for darkening of the cheese and mold to determine if it is bad. As you can see here, it's gotten dark. near the rind.

1. What does the darkening mean?

2. Can mold penetrate beneath the surface of a hard cheese like this and spread inside it like it can in bread?

3. Eat it or throw it?

I'm not an expert, but it doesn't look like it has gone off. It looks like it is like kinda dry and hard. I usually buy Parmigiano Regiano in largish chunks and it keeps for many months in my fridge. Once in a while it does get some mould. I cut off the mould and a bit of the surround cheese. Then I throw out the plastic bag and put the rest of the cheese in a clean bag. I have often had it get a bit hard.

Last edited:
The darkening is just the graduation of the rind drying from exterior to interior.

I have never had a hard cheese go moldy. It dries out maybe but never moldy.

The white crystals you see are not mold. But probably salt, although not positive.

I have kept Parm in my fridge for more than a year.

Absolutely. All aged cheeses ( Cheddar, aged Gouda, Edam, Parmesan, etc.) will darken from the outside in. I think (not an expert) that´s the oxidation process.
Mould will not penetrate. No way. You might find a little bit on the outer surface ( probably because of storage conditions) but just scrape it off and eat the rest.