Double Yolks!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rodentraiser

Head Chef
I've been buying jumbo eggs from Winco for a couple of years. Right now they're pretty cheap, about $1.19/dozen. I've gotten a couple double yolks in that time, but in this last dozen, I've had two eggs that had double yolks! Granted, the yolks are smaller than single ones, but I'm still tickled about it!

Isn't that a nice bonus?? I haven't seen a double yolked egg in years - at least with grocery store eggs.

Every now and then , when I collect eggs from my chickens, there will be one egg slightly bigger than the rest. Crack it open, and sure enough, a double yolk. I get a kick out of it every time I see it.

Love getting the double yolks, especially when I use to raise cornish cross meat chickens. The eggs were always jumbo, and the yolk were deep orange. Those chickens were fed corn, barley, and whatever insects an grubs they could find while roaming about the yard. When they saw a mouse, or rat, or other small rodent, look out. That critter was gone in seconds flat. Those birds laid superior eggs, and the roosters were very tasty. Mmmmm, double yolks.:yum:

Seeeeeeeya; Chief Longwind of the North

There was a corner store in my neighborhood that guaranteed double yolks in every egg. And he never got word that one egg had only one yolk. To bad, he died and the family closed the store. :angel:

When I was a little girl, I'd brown paper bag jumbo eggs of six for my parents Mom and Pop grocery store...all of them had double yolks. They were so big, they really had full size double yolks. When I grew up and left home, single yolks looked so strange.