Fried Eggs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Uncle Bob

Chef Extraordinaire
Question...

Do you think that the temperature of the eggs themselves.. before frying effects the finished product as in just out of the fridge or room temp etc.

Why?

Not looking for recipes nor how to suggestions..just your thoughts on the egg temperature prior to frying........

Bob, I Googled "perfect fried egg", and didn't find anything that mentioned whether the egg should be room temperature or out of the fridge.
I have noticed that a lot of TV chefs take them out of a bowl on the counter, but that may be merely for esthetic purposes.

As always, I'm no expert! I fill a bowl with hotish tap water and put the eggs in it while the bacon or grits are cooking. Eggs cook pretty quickly and it does seem to me that whether they hit the pan or 40 or 80 degrees does make a difference.

Last edited:
I've only ever used refrigerated eggs, and they come out great. I think much of how your fried eggs turns out has to do with the temperature of the pan and probably the type of pan as well. I use a non stick skillet with just a tad of canolla and a tad of butter.

I also use eggs right out of the fridge with terrific results. Lots & lots of butter & a medium temp seems to work best for me. The temp of the eggs doesn't seem to make a difference.

You know Bob, now that you mention it - and this isn't helpful at all, and I recognize that :LOL: - I have seen some mention somewhere about having the eggs at room temperature - but I don't know what they were making!

But just that fact makes me wonder if it makes a difference. Mine are alway straight out of the fridge, so I have no idea.