Heating Pad/Canning Jars Yogurt

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JoMama

Senior Cook
I've been making this for about 15 years ... it is EASY ... it works ... and it is fabulous!

Heating Pad / Canning Jars Yogurt

Don’t waste your money on a commercial yogurt maker!

Equipment needed:

6-quart stainless-steel kettle

Cheese or yeast thermometer (Needs to go from about 100 degrees to 220 degrees. An instant-response meat thermometer will do fine.)

4 quarts fresh whole milk (Skimmed may be used … but I love whole milk.)

Heat diffuser or flame tamer (Bent up metal coat-hangers work great on electric stoves.)

Three 1-quart wide-mouthed canning jars, with lids and rings, sterilized

Two or Three 1-pint wide-mouthed canning jars, with lids and rings, sterilized

Electric heating pad (Go look in your bathroom closet! ATTENTION: Make certain it is a model you can adjust to not having the timer turn it off automatically at 20 minutes.)

About 4 heavy bath towels.

Yogurt starter (Health food stores can provide you with a Bulgarian yogurt starter.)