Handmade Bread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bluemoon

Assistant Cook
Hi,
Greetings to everyone.
I'm a newbie, happened to stumble upon this wonderful site, I have an old problem and hope some of you experts can throw some lights.

I have been trying to bake my own bread and I hand knead my dough. No matter how long I knead, it never look shiny or elastic like those in books. The more I knead, the harder the dough becomes however, when I do the stretch test, the dough is elastic enough and doesnt break easily.

I usually leave my dough in a bowl cover with damp towel to proof. I normally do the poking test to see if its done.

Problem is, my bread also turned heavy and hard the next day :(

I'm convinced I need a heavy duty mixer so went on to buy my Kitchen Aid, result has slightly improved but still not ideal.

Any idea where did I go wrong??? I don want to give up bread making yet.

Kneading the dough for a long time is never a good idea, it overdevelops the gluten in the bread resulting in a harder, less desirable bread.

You shouldn't need a mixer to achieve the desired result. You should only knead the bread enough to turn that sticky mass into a ball that feels smooth when you knead it. I don't think you need it to look as pretty and shiny as in the book, remember they are pictures from a book and may have gone through some sort of pre/post photograph editing to make it look more desirable.

However my baking skills and knowledge are far from complete, but these are just my thoughts.