My bread blow by blow

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Romany123

Senior Cook
I have been making bread for many years and will ever find it a pleasure.
In our house nearly everything is made from scratch. I am fortunate that I have the time (or make the time) and inclination to have an intense interest in what I and my family eat.
This is “Shambles” staple bread and the way I prepare it, using my equipment and a sponge starter
You can if you like take the final stage of the procedure one stage further.(putting the dough into the bread tins) Put the dough into the refrigerator for its final rise overnight. It is good for about 10 hours that way. Let it stand at room temperature for about an hour and bake in a pre heated oven. I like to do this when we have guests, or at weekends. I hope I have covered all the stages in enough detail for you all to make successful bread

Makes two loaves.

Sponge starter

500ml hand warm water
100g Granary flour. (UK Hovis)
150g strong bread flour (UK Allinson’s)
½ tsp dry yeast powder
3 tsp Honey
3 tsp malt extract.

Add all the above to the bread mixer (all times and speeds refer to a KitchenAid mixer) and mix with the flat beater on speed one fort one minute. Meanwhile weigh out

200g Granary flout.
350g Strong white bread flour
1 tsp Dry yeast powder. (mix yeast into flour before adding the salt as contact will kill the yeast).
2 tsp Salt.

Sprinkle the flour and mixed in yeast over the sponge starter (still in the mixer bowl) so that it is all covered and leave for at least one hour, or up to 6 hours at room temperature ( at this stage it is very flexible and could be left in the refrigerator over night) . you will find that the sponge starter underneath the flour will bubble through, this is quite normal.

Attach the dough hook