NY Times bread recipe--what FUN

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I'm really more nervous about this than i should be, heck I make bagels for a living what is my problem?!?!?!
Thanks!

:) Don't worry it's easy it wont mess up your bread. I used to make bagels as well many years ago in a small bakery I made them by hand got really good at it.

I usually just tear off a sheet of parchment paper that is a big square. I don't remember exactly how long a roll of parchment paper is, but I pull off a piece that is as long as it is wide. It's always been big enough for me. Sometimes I put cornmeal on it. Sometimes I don't. Doesn't seem to make any difference one way or the other.

Don't worry, suzi. This dough is very forgiving. You can abuse the heck out of it and you'll still get a beautiful loaf of bread. Save your stress for "Lego girl.":LOL:

I got word this morning that the oven at work went out, I may have the weekend off....
I figured I would make this so I don't go thru dough withdrawl!!!

I can use my crockpot insert right? My DO handles can't go over 350......

I've been playing with this bread recently. Decided to do something using garlic and fresh rosemary. Sooooo...

I roasted a whole head of garlic. Squished out the soft cloves into a small bowl. Smooshed (technical term) them up until smooth. Chopped about 2 or 3 tablespoons fresh rosemary and combined it with the garlic.

Before I added the water to the flour, etc., I mixed in the garlic/rosemary stuff in the water until it was fully incorporated. Then made the bread according to directions.

OMIGOSH!!! Fantabulous! Can't wait to make fontina, tomato slices, basil grilled cheese sandwiches. Gonna be good. Gonna be good. Gonna be good.