Concerns about the coronavirus/Covid-19 pandemic

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Phew, the place I get the basket order updated their instructions, so now I have "activated" my delivery time slot for Tuesday. I have picked out most of the stuff I want. I set an alarm on my phone to check the supermarket website at 23:55.

People were making sourdough bread long before King Arthur Flour existed ;;) I've been using Kroger brand flour for most of my bread-making and it works fine. I occasionally buy KA bread flour, but that's for specialty breads.

Btw, look online for recipes you can make with the discard - I've seen people making crackers and other types of flatbreads with it.

Yea, I get it. But Since I'm a newbie, I wanted to start with proven ingredients. But I guess you proved it for me! Thanks.

But I wanted to make some really good bread. I have two crusty loaves in the freezer and some sliced bread frozen as well. So, I'm in no hurry.
I was going to buy bread flour, AP flour and some rye flour for another starter.

I was thinking about sharing the starter with others like me that cannot find yeast and sometimes bread. Gifts if you will. Small containers my wife has, and put a bow on it with instructions?

The stuff I'm discarding is fine for bread. It almost grew out of the jar yesterday and today. Bubbly too. I guess its ready since I started with ready made starter. It might should go into the fridge.

Jack used the jar with scrapings left over and had ready starter in 24 hours. I think this is what happened to me.
I did not start from scratch. One tsp of ready starter, fed twice.

I appreciate your help. :)

Like many others, our supermarket chain has established special early hours for older customers.