Dumpling Maker? I need your feedback!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

The Dumpling man

Assistant Cook
Greetings!

I am a student designing a dumpling maker for an engineering design project. I was wondering if those of you who are familiar with the dumpling making process could answer these quick questions:

1. On average, how many times a month do you make dumplings? How many dumplings per servings?

2. Do you make them homemade or use a device?

3. What is the most money you would pay for a quality dumpling maker?

4. Would you pay more money for a maker that is multipurpose, i.e. one that makes ravioli, periogies, etc.?

5. How many dumplings would you expect the maker to produce per minute?

Any other comments would be most appreciated!

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is most appreciated!

Sincerely,
The Dumpling Man :chef:

Google "dumpling maker" and see what is already on the market. They range from home pierogie makers (about $3 US) to ravioli makers that only need a rolling pin ($8+ US) to fully automated fill-and-form devices.

When I make filled dumplings like pierogie, empanadas, etc. I do them by hand. All I need is a rolling pin and a round cutting device ... a biscuit cutter, or a round can, glass, cup - works just fine.

For ravioli - I have a pasta roller, rolling pin and a pastry cutter (if I want fluted edges) - otherwise either the buscuit cutter for round ravioli, or a knife for square.

I do have a filled dumpling gizmo - made of plastic - that is supposed to crimp the edges ... but I still have to cut the dough and fill it by hand ... I used it once.

For home use ... I've got all I need- and speed isn't an issue for me.

If you are talking about commercial production ... again, look at what is already on the market to get some ideas.