Growing indoor food help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anticuchos

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I would like to grow some plants indoor for cooking.

The products from the local market are lousy. They are chemical-sprayed, scarred/rashed, contain pale patches, mushy, and expensive!

Not to mention the numberous hands that have touched it before I put it in the shopping bag!

I plan to grow something in my room. Yes, it has to be my room since its not my house. I rent, so this is the only place I can keep my stuff.

So, I plan to grow something indoors. Like tomatoes. Here is where I need some help: I am a newbie. :( Hopefully, some of you friendly fellows will help me out.

1. If I introduce a plant(s) into my room, would that invite critters? I don't want to things crawling up my bed!

2. Umm... Just water, light and fertiliser is all I need to nourish it?

3. Can I grow with fluorescent light? At night, I would leave the lights on for the plant(s).

The thing is, I work night shifts. So in the day time, I sleep with the blinds down.

This would be a fun challenge for you. I do this through the cold MI winters in my house. I like peppers, spices, garlic, ginger and tomatoes! I would invest in a good grow light though. I have one with a goose neck light that I can clamp onto anything and aim it where I want! I have a bird of paradise and pineapples from my son's graduation party three years ago still growing. I do have to mist them frequently as the furnace and fireplace take the moisture out of the air. I have tried water trays beneath but never saw much difference! I have never had unwanted crawlies inside the house. In fact I'm going to grow my tomatoes in the glasshouse next year as I cannot stand those tomato worms! Grow light, fertilizer, water and love will make them grow! Have fun and experiment. Will keep track of this thread and see how you are doing!