How to actually unclog kitchen sink??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kenny1999

Senior Cook
First of all, I am not always a careful person, but most of the time I filter
large uneaten food first before draining. However, now my kitchen sink
is still badly clogged.

I have just tried to unclog it with baking soda and white vinegar, together with hot boiling water and I
followed the steps exactly suggested on the youtube or other sites but it just didn't work. Yes there was some chemical reaction which sounded good but at the end of the day, it
just did not work...

I am so frustrated. Is it uninstalling the pipes and cleaning out the stuck rubbish the only real way to unclog the kitchen sink? I have no experience
on this and I only want to take this measure in the last minute...

Any advice????

Your vinegar and hot water are good for monthly maintenance but when it is badly clogged - in my experience - only a really good commercial product will do.

Most bottles recommend using half the bottle for really bad drains, wait some time, pour hot water. I'm cheap, I use 1/4 to 1/3 and hope it works. If not, I bite the bullet and use more.

I try to remember monthly maintenance but ....

good luck.

I've never had to use a drain cleaner in a kitchen sink.

As we are both blessed with ample hair in one form or another, Drano periodically is a must for the bathroom drains.

Drano has worked well for us and works through standing water.

Last edited:
None of which is going to fix the poster's current problem, but it great advice to prevent future problems. The Draino commercial used to say "Once in every week, Draino in every drain."

First try a plunger. Get a really good one, not a cheap flimsy one, and work it as hard as you can: Pump, pump, YANK! pump, pump, YANK! Rinse and repeat.