I need a little computer help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AllenOK

Executive Chef
My desktop computer locked up today. I couldn't get it to do anything. I rebooted, and got an error message saying "No Operating System Found".

I'm thinking the HDD on the desktop has fried. Now, I'm a complete dummy when it comes to a systerm recovery, as I've never done that before. Do I press F8 while it's "tries" to boot up to get to the Safe Mode, or do I need to do something else? I don't have a Windows XP CD-ROM to boot with, as the O/S is supposedly on a secure partition of the HDD.

At least I was able to get all my data off that computer and onto my laptop. Of course, PeppA's and my MIL's geneological data will be lost if we can't recover it.

If the HDD is dead, I'd be looking at replacing the HDD and getting another copy of XP, but for that kind of money, I might as well buy a new tower. I know of one that's about twice as powerful as the desktop was for $325.

Allen, by any chance do you have a Sony VAIO? I know a couple of people who have/had those and both of them experienced the same problem you did with their hard drive crashing. The only other thing that I can think of is that somehow your hard drive got re-formatted, which in that case it's still fine, but you would need to re-install an OS.

I have to agree with Andy. This does not sound like something you can deal with yourself. I would take it to a reputable shop.

For curiosity's sake, what brand/make/model is your system? And did you buy it new or used? Any manufacturer that fails to provide a valid OEM backup CD and certificate is a company to be avoided like the plague IMO.

~ Raven ~

Sheesh, must have been something in the air (or power lines) this weekend!