Let's Talk TV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Currently I'm watching "Grimm" - I know, I know....

Also repeats of "The Big Bang Theory" - It isn't that far fetched - I knew characters like them when I was a student!!!

"Downton Abbey" is on again on British TV but not at times I can watch - and anyway I watched the original. It was interesting to us, up to a point, the first time round as one set of my maternal great-grandparents were Butler and House-keeper for an Earl around the end of the 19th century. Later, when they left service, they ran quite high class hotels in the Derbshire area and when they retired from the hotel trade they took over the local pub in the village where my mother was brought up.

A family story tells of the time they ran a very upper class hotel in Derby and the King's jockey was staying there for the Derby races. The jockey made an improper "pass" at one of the maids who reported him to my Great Grandmother who sent GGfather to sort the jockey out. Apparently, GGfather, a very well-built and strong man, held the jockey by the ankles over the banister of the 2nd floor landing and told him that he would be dropped over the banister if he ever upset a servant again. Apparently he said "Jockeys are 10 for a penny but good servants are hard to find".

Last edited:
Derry Girls on Netflix

Recently, in a conversation about Veronica Mars, there was some talk about the tedium of TV about high school kids.

Derry Girls is a good one. Two seasons are each only six ½ hour episodes, so not a big investment. I was watching this alone and laughing out loud. It's an Irish show and some of the accents are thick enough that I enjoy it a little more with subtitles.

That one is on "my list", Kayelle...

It may be an interesting series.. :)

Ross