"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2009, 11:49 PM   #1
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,276
Mac Book Oops

OK, I'm an idiot. I was goofing around on my MacBook and I moved a bunch of photos and other things to the trash. Is there any way to move them back to their original spot that isn't labor intensive or do I have to do it all the hard way? Is there an Undo function I'm not finding?

__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:05 AM   #2
Master Chef
 
getoutamykitchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pasco County, Florida
Posts: 5,658
Can't you open your trash folder and move to your desktop, close the trash folder, open the folder you want them in and just drop them back in again. That's what I have done. I have a iMac.
__________________
Finally things have started clicking for me, my knees, my elbows, my back, etc...
getoutamykitchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:56 AM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 47,900
If the Mac has a restore function, you can restore your system back to a time before you started trashing photos but you will lose everything you did after that point

Otherwise you just reverse the click and drag routine back to the original locations.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:59 AM   #4
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,518
Do you have Time Machine set up on your Mac Alix?
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:02 AM   #5
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Metro New York
Posts: 8,763
Send a message via Yahoo to ChefJune
Quote:
Originally Posted by getoutamykitchen View Post
Can't you open your trash folder and move to your desktop, close the trash folder, open the folder you want them in and just drop them back in again. That's what I have done. I have a iMac.
That's what I would do. I have a g5 laptop.
__________________
Wine is the food that completes the meal.
ChefJune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:03 AM   #6
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,276
No GB, I hadn't set it up yet. I have a feeling you are going to tell me something to make me wish I had!

getoutamykitchen I think I could be at this a while trying to put everything back in its original places. Sheesh.
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:09 AM   #7
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,518
Just make a folder on your desktop and drag them all into that folder, then when you have time you can move a few files at a time to where they should be.

Yes I am going to tell you something that would make you wish you had Time Machine set up. You would have had to make two clicks to get everything back to the way it was if you had it set up. Do you have an external hard drive? If not then get one (they have come way down in price) and set up Time Machine right away. Without it (or some other backup method) you could lose everything at any time.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:37 AM   #8
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,276
I have a stick, but its not nearly big enough to hold everything. How does an external hard drive connect to the laptop? Just with a USB? And I haven't emptied my trash yet, I'm going to do this the hard way and then set up Time Machine like I should have done from the beginning. Phooey! Thanks GB.
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:41 AM   #9
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,518
Yeah a stick won't work for time machine. Ideally you want your external to be 1.5 - 2x larger than your hard drive in the computer (mine is the exact same size though). Yes it plugs into your USB. They have some that you also have to plug into the wall or now they have small ones that draw power from the USB port itself. You basically just plug it in and then click time machine to turn it on and the rest happens automatically and in the background. It is quick and painless and will save you headaches and provide piece of mind knowing that your information is at least backed up.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 09:51 AM   #10
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,518
Alix I am at work so I did not listen to this youtube, but just looking at the screen quickly it looks like it will give you a basic understanding of time machine. Check it out.

__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:11 AM   #11
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 47,900
Is Time Machine an app/utility that comes with the machine or do you buy it separately?
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:14 AM   #12
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,518
It comes with it. You need to supply the external hard drive, but the software is already there. All you do is plug in the hard drive and time machine will automatically recognize it is there and start backing up every hour. You can change the settings to make it back up more frequently or less frequently. You can also exclude files or folders from being backed up if you want. If you power down or go into sleep mode or unplug the hard drive or something like that while it is backing up then it will pick up where it left off when you power up again or plug the hard drive back in.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:16 AM   #13
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 47,900
Thanks, GB.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:59 PM   #14
Contest Winner
 
Maidrite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pageland SC
Posts: 3,113
Also and external hard drive will hold the whole thing from programs, Jump drives won't. I lost some important stuff to jump drives, that I won't have with a stick. Also make sure you don't have to us an AC adaptor, but you can if you want. I have had several externals and like my Toshiba the best. Barbara has a Western Digital that is very good too, and is about the size of a deck of playing cards:) Both were way under a $100 dollars :)

Love and Hugs, James
__________________
If you need a smile, take mine, I'll make a new one.
Maidrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.